Presidential Tawny Port, without an "Indication of Age"?

This section is for those who have basics questions about, or are new to, Port. There are no "dumb" questions here - just those wanting to learn more!

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Collin S

Presidential Tawny Port, without an "Indication of Age"?

Post by Collin S »

Hi, all. This is my first post in this forum, and I am excited to have come across it!

I am a total Port noob, and I went out to buy a bottle for the family for the holiday without having done any research, and intending only to pay what I can afford with my meager, broke student income. What I ended up buying was the Presidential Tawny Porto. I asked the salesman for a rundown, and which I should go for under $30. The guy clearly had very limited knowledge, and possible made a few things up, so I just nodded along.

- This is the one, although it is a small image: http://www.bevmo.com/presidential-tawny ... 0-ml-.html

What I'm wondering is how old, on average, is this Port? I did some research before making this post, but I ended up with very limited and varying results. Basically, what I've concluded is that this bottle is a blend, as all Tawny Ports are (?), but that they are all aged for a minimum of 3 (one source suggesting 7) years, which is a necessity to legally be considered a Tawny Port. The man at the store's jumbled pitch mentioned something similar to this at one point.

So... What's the correct answer? Thanks in advance!
Andy Velebil
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America - USA

Re: Presidential Tawny Port, without an "Indication of Age"?

Post by Andy Velebil »

Collin, first welcome to the forum. It's a basic tawny. So around 7 years in barrel (probably a larger one) as by law a tawny has to be at least 7 years in barrel prior to bottling.

And for FYI, in the USA Presidential is the same as Dalva elsewhere. Just a name change for us here in the states.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk