Tasting old port

This section is for those who have basics questions about, or are new to, Port. There are no "dumb" questions here - just those wanting to learn more!

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

marc segers

Tasting old port

Post by marc segers »

Hi,

I'm very new to port. I know a lot about whisky, but now we want to do a port tasting.
I have several ports but don't know what to choose.
This is what we already have in the line-up
2007 Niepoort Crushed
2000 Ramos Pinto Vintage
1985 Fonseca
1978 Kopke Colheita
1977 Dow vintage
1976 Fonseca Guimaraens Vintage
1972 Offley Vintage
1970 SmithWoodhouse vintage
1964 Kopke Vintage
1963 Warre Vintage
1952 Da Silva Colheita

I have this to put in the line up.
I wanted to give a young 2004 Morgadio da Calçada LBVand a Altro Douro from Royal Oporto just after the crushed
What would be your choiche between these ports for the rest
I have
feist 1937
Croft 300 years anniversary bottling
Rozes 1977 vintage
Fernandez Santos 1955-1972
Tawny Cockburn 20 1987
Taylor's 1977 vintage
Santos 1944
Amandio's 1945 old tawny
Diez Ultra 1951
What would be your choice if you could pick 4 extra bottles??

Regards,

Marc
Jim R.

Re: Tasting old port

Post by Jim R. »

Marc-welcome. I have not had many of these so I will only offer some suggestions. How many total port tasters/drinkers will be at the tasting? The more people and wines the harder it is to control/organize/manage the tasting. How many fortified wines will you be serving? I suggest limiting the number to six or eight since you are somewhat new to ports. Please keep us informed and we will see what Andy and Roy (experienced presenters) and others think. They will be able to offer knowledgeable guidance.
Roy Hersh
Site Admin

Post by Roy Hersh »

Hi Marc,

First of all, [welcome.gif] to FTLOP!

We hope you'll enjoy your time spent here sharing your Port experiences and asking any questions, like this great first post of yours.