Trade bodies

This section is for those who have basics questions about, or are new to, Port. There are no "dumb" questions here - just those wanting to learn more!

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Shane Goodbody

Trade bodies

Post by Shane Goodbody »

Good day all

I am a WSET Diploma student, currently researching an assignment on the trade bodies in the port, madeira and sherry industries (IVDP, IVM and Consejo Regulador). I would be very grateful to hear anybody's views/opinions on the role and effectiveness of these bodies, and their relationship with growers, shippers and other members of the trade.

Thanks in advance for your help

Cheers, Shane
Roy Hersh
Site Admin

Post by Roy Hersh »

Hi Shane and welcome aboard the FTLOP website. Your question is very complex, with no easy answers. Responding to it, would require very politically charged responses. I would almost rather point you in the direction of Port and Madeira Shippers to see if they'd be willing to help you. However, I doubt that you would find too many folks willing to say anything "on the record" ... especially without knowing you or talking to you face to face.

Showing up on a website such as this and having your very first post, deliver such a procative request for information would be akin to a stranger knocking on my front door and asking for my social security number. Please do not take this personally, as I have no doubt that you are sincerely just looking for assistance with your paper. I have helped previous WSET students doing significant works on Port and Madeira related topics. I was amazed at the depth that they went into in their specific areas of interest.

That is why I am not surprised that you were unable to coax any responses here, so far. I have strong opinions about the questions raised, but certainly would not be willing to discuss my thoughts with anyone but a close friend, privately, who could understand the intricate and historical nuances involved.