TN: 2016 Rivers-Marie Pinot Noir Anderson Valley

For things that don't fit into the other categories.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Andy Velebil
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America - USA

TN: 2016 Rivers-Marie Pinot Noir Anderson Valley

Post by Andy Velebil »

2016 Rivers-Marie Pinot Noir Anderson Valley - USA, California, North Coast, Anderson Valley (3/17/2018)

Mid-weight red cherries and spices dominate a well balanced palate. Some soft tannins through. This isn't a fruit bomb or too lean, it fits nicely in the middle of those two. While it isn't the most complex Pinot out there, it still has enough to keep me coming back for more. At $30 this is a very well priced and made wine. It makes the perfect bottle to open when you don't want to open that $120 one. Definitely a wine I'll buy again.
89 points

OTHER:
Since I am still very new to Rivers Marie wines and learning which ones I prefer, I thought this was a darn good "daily" wine that won't break the bank. IIRC, this was 13.5% abv which is a nice change from some other Napa Pinots and also allows this to be more versatile with foods as it keeps that bright fresh fruit profile. I'm glad this company also focuses on these more affordable wines.
Andy Velebil Good wine is a good familiar creature if it be well used. William Shakespeare http://www.fortheloveofport.com
Mike K.

Re: TN: 2016 Rivers-Marie Pinot Noir Anderson Valley

Post by Mike K. »

I have a friend who works for Rivers-Marie. It's a neat operation. Besides their own wines they make wines for folks that aren't big enough to have their own winemaker and production facilities. Apparently if you are super rich it's trendy to have your own wine, and these guys provide that service. Got to taste a few of these out of the tank last year, they were quite good. My friend also started his own wine label a few years back and makes around 100 cases of Cab per year.
Andy Velebil