Drink vintage young or leave alone and drink Tawney and LBV

This section is for those who have basics questions about, or are new to, Port. There are no "dumb" questions here - just those wanting to learn more!

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

WJ Evans

Drink vintage young or leave alone and drink Tawney and LBV

Post by WJ Evans »

I'm still pretty new to collecting port. Here's rough numbers of what I have by vintage.

2003 - 33
2007 - 26
2009 - 36
2011 - 123
2016 - 161

That's what I have in cellar tracker, but I know I have some that I have stacked up that I haven't put in cellar tracker yet.

I'm obviously much heavier on more recent vintages and the above is probably 85% 375's and 15% 750s.

Should I just hold tight on the vintage port and drink LBVs and ready to drink Tawney's?

If I wanted to buy older ports, that are in their prime to drink, are there any online retailers that can be trusted with the older vintages?
Frederick Blais

Re: Drink vintage young or leave alone and drink Tawney and LBV

Post by Frederick Blais »

Enjoy what you want when you feel you want it :)

Nothing wrong about opening a young VP if you enjoy it. LBV will provide less pleasure as it is less intense and pure but offers great QPR. Tawny brings a different style and experience in my opinion.

I used to drink my 375ml in the first 5 years while I hold on the 750ml until they reach their prime.
Living the dream and now working for a Port company
Glenn E.
Location: Sammamish, Washington, United States of America - USA

Post by Glenn E. »

As Fred said, drink whatever makes you happy! There's no harm in opening a young bottle of Port if that's what you want to drink. Some might argue that the wine would have been better, later, but that's completely subjective.