10 Years Old or 10 Year Old?

This forum is for discussing all things Port (as in from PORTugal) - vintages, recommendations, tasting notes, etc.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Stewart T.

10 Years Old or 10 Year Old?

Post by Stewart T. »

As a former English Professor, I've tried to be pretty consistent with correct grammar in writing my tasting notes. Granted, there is usually drinking involved when I am writing my tasting notes....but I digress.

As I have been catching up transcribing years of hand-written tasting notes, I found that I've been inconsistent in one consistent way: whether I should be using "10 Year Old" Tawny Port or "10 Years Old" Tawny Port or "10-Year-Old" Tawny Port.

Normal English rules state that if the if the phrase as a noun, it is plural:
The Port is 10 years old. | or | The boy is 10 years old.

If it is being used as an adjective, then it should be singular. However, "year old" used as an adjective should be hyphenated.
The Port is a 10-year-old. | or | The boy is a 10-year-old.
This 10-year-old Port... | or | This 10-year-old boy...

Now for the fun part....
In the IVDP Regulations, the rule on Ports with an indication of age specify that the following should be used:
"10 anos de idade, 20 anos de idade, 30 anos de idade, 40 anos de idade ou 50 anos de idade; "

Which - if google translate isn't messing with me, translates to
"10 years old, 20 years old, 30 years old, 40 years old or 50 years old;"

However, it appears that producers have been inconsistent in labeling (which the IVDP has to approve, BTW)...

(Randomly Searched to see how producers spell it on their labels)

10 Year Old Tawny Port: Taylor, Dow, Burmester, Fonseca
10 Years Old Tawny Port: Niepoort, Rozes, Barros, Calem, Churchills, Kopke, Osborne, Vallado,

Graham's smartly avoids the whole thing with "Aged 10 Years" and Sandeman "Rested 10 Years"

So it would seem that
1. IVDP regulations are more commonly followed than English grammar.