Vintages... Best?

This forum is for discussing all things Port (as in from PORTugal) - vintages, recommendations, tasting notes, etc.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Red Aaron

Vintages... Best?

Post by Red Aaron »

Hi all!
I've been looking around winebid some, focusing on the cheaper bottles as I'm new to the game.
I've been reading a lot of posts and its clear there is a lot of knowledge in this forum group.
Curious to know if there are any sort of general suggestions for buying ports.
Are their decades that are standout decades, or only specific years, also things like seepage issues in a bottle, or neck fill leverl being an indicator to wave off a bottle.

I see the 2016's and 2017's are 100 bucks a bottle about, is that an indication that vintage is really great, whereas a 1975-1980 VP is only 50 dollars a bottle or so. Any idvice would be great.
Lucas S

Re: Vintages... Best?

Post by Lucas S »

Decades don't matter much by themselves, the vintage and producer matter. For example, people will tell you that 90s Niepoort bottlings tend to have VA issues so its probably best to avoid them.

Others can chime in on the quality but from the perspective of pricing alone, it is not really correlated with quality per se.

In terms of auction prices alone,
The 1940s, specifically 1945 and 1948 which were legendary vintages, cost way more than anything afterwards, like $750 a bottle of Taylor.
The 1950s cost a bit more than the 1960s, although that is tempered by the fact that 1963 and 1966 were so good and are also expensive.
The 1960s cost more than the 1970s, of which 1970 and 1977 probably have the most reputation.
The 1970s cost more than the 1980s, the 80 VPs are very specific producer dependent and are still modestly cheap. Glenn made this good summary of the 80s: http://www.theportforum.com/viewtopic.p ... 97#p127697. (you should do one for the 70s and 90s too Glenn :D )