Not lurking now!

For things that don't fit into the other categories.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Ross Lynch

Not lurking now!

Post by Ross Lynch »

Roy,
First you are a God send! I love Port, however I have very little knowledge, so I look forward to many days on this forum and your web page to learn more. Thank you!!

Second, I (like many newbies I am sure) am looking for good Ports to drink now that don't cost too much (I know very subjective). But, let's say I am not the only newbie with a small budget. I would like to see suggestions from anyone and hopefully Roy, say in the $20-$40 range. I also enjoy smoking cigars and in my opinion, Port is one of the best companions to a great cigar! I am looking for something to share with a friend that we will both enjoy without breaking the bank.

On another note, I and four other friends have started a Port night gathering which we do every couple of months. One person holds the gathering and is responsible for deciding the theme, vertical tasting, horizontal tasting or whatever the person wants. I just held one and did a blind horizontal tasting of five different `95s, not a bad night and there were a few surprises. Everyone pitch's in to cover the Port and a few snacks. So far the high end has been $100 each, but we typically average about $50 each. It is a great time!!

8)
Last edited by Ross Lynch on Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Frederick Blais

Post by Frederick Blais »

Erac, I think you have a great subjet to start another thread: "Recommendations between 20 and 40$" I'm sure you'll have lots of feedback!

My first would be Sandeman LBV 1999 that I just drank tonight and can even be found under 20$.
Living the dream and now working for a Port company
Alan Rath

Post by Alan Rath »