1950 Fajã dos Padres Vineyard Terrantez

This forum is for discussing all things Madeira - vintages, recommendations, tasting notes, etc.

Moderators: Glenn E., Roy Hersh, Andy Velebil

Andreas Platt

1950 Fajã dos Padres Vineyard Terrantez

Post by Andreas Platt »

Hi everyone!

I am new to Roy's FTLOP pages.

The Master himself is offline, maybe someone else can help out?

I got an offer for a 1950 Terrantez Faja dos Padres; does anyone have any info 'bout this one?

Thanks in advance

Andreas
Paul Day

Post by Paul Day »

Faja dos Padres is historically the most renowned vineyard in Madeira. Its fame was for Malvasia. Alex Liddell gives a detailed account on pp.99-102 of his book.

Despite this fame, there appear to be very few existing wines that come from Faja dos Padres, mainly because the vineyard seems to have had a tough time following phyloxera, and the fact that in recent years it was more profitable to grow bananas - imagine replanting Romanee-Conti with potatoes!

Of those wines that are actually labelled with the vineyard name, I have only heard of three prior to the 1950 Barbeito Terrantez you ask about: a glorious 1839 Blandy's wine that is one of the greatest Malmseys I have ever tried, totally complete and still fresh for its age (Liddell likes it too!); Liddell also gives a note for an 1870 (that he deems "unremarkable"); finally, from the de Freitas collection, I opened a undated mid C19 example last year that was still very sweet, quite light in colour, with lots of finesse, that was very fine, if not quite in the same league as the Blandy's 1839.